Skip to Main Content


Toni Nelson Recognized by TCDA


Alisa Toni Nelson, one of the newest members of the OTC Board of Directors (June 2012), was recognized as a certified board member by the Technical College Directors Association (TCDA) at the TCSG 2013 Leadership Conference in Savannah last month.  


Ms. Nelson, marketing and public relations coordinator at Mayo Clinic Health System of Waycross, joins other board members in communicating community needs to the college president and administration. Directors interpret state board policies and provide supplemental policies to ensure that the needs of area business and industry are met to the highest possible degree and in the most cost effective and efficient manner. Consequently, OTC considers its local board members a vital asset in the quest to fulfill the mission of the College.

While members of the local board of directors of the state’s 24 technical colleges are automatically members of TCDA, extra steps are taken to become board certified by the TCDA. To receive certification, board members must attend New Board/Governance, Community Advocacy, Elected Officials and Budget workshops and visit at least one class session being taught by their respective technical college as required by the TCDA.

In addition to workshops, board members can also go on a tour of the technical college conducted by the president or a vice president, attend at least one graduation at the technical college, or represent the technical college in collaborative efforts with other groups or with the media among other selected activities.

“We are pleased to have highly qualified community leaders on our board,” said Okefenokee Technical College President Dr. Glenn Deibert. “Their work in leading the College is instrumental to its success. As an Okefenokee Technical College alumni, Ms. Nelson has a personal connection with the College and a greater understanding of its value to individuals and the community.”

The OTC Board of Directors is composed of eight members representing the college’s designated six-county service area. At least one member from each county is represented on the Board. Ms. Nelson serves with Board Chair Phillip Cook, Clinch; Jack Johnson, Bacon; Dr. Greg Jacobs, Brantley; Lee Gowen, Charlton; Daniel Johnson, Pierce; and Keith Johnson, M.D., Ware. The Board meets monthly.

Photo 1

Photo 1:
OTC Board Director Toni Nelson (Front, 2nd from Left) was recently recognized by the Technical College Directors’ Association as a certified board member. She was congratulated by OTC President Dr. Glenn Deibert (not shown) and other OTC officials attending the TCSG Leadership Conference. Nelson holds the award presented to her for the accomplishment and is shown here with Commissioner Ron Jackson (back row, right) and board members of other Georgia technical colleges who attained certification this year.

← Back




Waycross Alma Baxley
1701 Carswell Ave 101 West 17th St 1334 Golden Isles Pkwy, W
Waycross, Georgia 31503 Alma, Georgia 31510 Baxley, Georgia 31513
912.287.6584 912.632.0951 912.367.1700
  Camden Golden Isles
  8001 The Lakes Blvd 3700 Glynco Pkwy
  Kingsland, Georgia 31548 Brunswick, Georgia 31525
  912.510.3327 912.262.4999
  Hazlehurst Jesup
  677 Douglas Hwy 1777 West Cherry St
  Hazlehurst, Georgia 31539 Jesup, Georgia 31545
  912.379.0041 912.427.5800




Website design and development by, Inc.

Copyright © Coastal Pines Technical College. All rights reserved.

close (X)