Skip to Main Content


OTC Radiologic Technology Students Recognized at Pinning Ceremony


Members of the 2013 radiologic technology class of Okefenokee Technical College (OTC) were recognized and honored with a pinning ceremony held April 30, 2013, at the OTC Miller Lecture Hall. Donna Yeomans, radiologic technology program director, assisted by Brent Clemmer and Chrissie Rentz, pinned eleven graduating students, signifying they had met all necessary graduation requirements.

Several students in the radiology program took part in the ceremony. Yuri Martin and Jessica Fussell presented a moving invocation.  Dr. Abraham Pallas, academic dean for allied health and general education, spoke of the significance of pinning ceremonies. The welcome was presented by Jewel Curry and Meghan Fullard. 

Rob Prather and Rebecca Benton shared memories of classroom, clinical, and personal moments.  They presented Amanda Henderson with a “Star” student award for her academic achievement.  

Jessica Mikell and Amanda Henderson presented plaques to each clinical affiliate as an expression of dedication in aiding the class with completing their educational journey.  Appreciation plaques were presented to Bacon County Hospital and Health System (BCH), Clinch Memorial Hospital, Coffee Regional Medical Center, Mayo Clinic Health System in Waycross (MCHS), Mayo Clinic Health System Orthopedics, South Georgia Physicians Group, and Wayne Memorial Hospital.

Select students and technologists were recognized throughout the ceremony.  Whitney Lewis presented the Mayo Clinic Health System in Waycross Outstanding Technologist Award to Jay Jones RT(R) for his “patience, understanding, and dedication to the profession.” “He has made our experience enjoyable and educational,” stated Lewis. Jonathan Williams presented the Outstanding Clinical Affiliate Technologist Award to Anthony Thorne, RT(R)(CT) for “being a leader and open to teach us in the trenches at BCH” during their many days of clinical travel and rotation at various clinical sites.

Jessica Fussell received the MCHS Outstanding Student Award presented by Brent Clemmer for “demonstrating a strong work ethic, compassion, and clinical expertise.”  Jessica Mikell received the Mallinckrodt Award for her “academic ability in maintaining a high GPA, respectfulness, humility, and patient care skills” while working as a dedicated BCH employee.

Mrs. Yeomans and Mr. Clemmer addressed graduates prior to the ceremonial pinning. Mrs. Yeomans reflected on the meaning of success.  She was inspired by Ralph Waldo Emerson’s definition of success:  “What is success?  To laugh often and much; To win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; To earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; To appreciate beauty; To find the best in others; To leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition; To know even one life has breathed easier because YOU have lived; This is to have succeeded.”  She went on to say, “Put God first and trust in Him, never give up on your dreams, maintain integrity, always work with the spirit of excellence, and know that you have purpose.”

Mr. Clemmer gave remarks for each individual student sharing humorous memories he recalled with each graduate.  There were many laughs and family member participation during the speech that left the students with fond recollections as he addressed their loved ones. 
The following radiologic technology students were pinned and presented to the audience:  Rebecca Benton, Jewel Curry, Cassie Denison, Meghan Fullard, Jessica Fussell, Amanda Henderson, Whitney Lewis, Yuri Martin, Jessica Mikell, Rob Prather, and Jonathan Williams. 

Following the official pinning, students watched a slide show presentation of unforgettable photos compiled by program instructors.  Following the presentation, Yuri Martin and Cassie Denison gave closing remarks and presented each instructor with a token of appreciation.  The students ended by presenting Mr. Clemmer with a sombrero while singing “Happy Birthday,” and topping it off by covering him with silly string.  The students had been waiting 2-years for the fun-filled retribution. 

An extended appreciation goes to the following individuals and organizations for their attendance, support, and help in making the ceremony a success: Dr. Glenn Deibert, Dr. Melanie Thornton, Dr. Abraham Pallas, Temple Ogundu, Teresa Allen, Dr. Howard Griffin, Jack Harris at Teamgear Printing, Natalie’s Florist, Chad Boyett and the OTC facilities staff, Mark Deal and the OTC environmental horticulture program.

Members of the OTC radiologic technology graduating class of 2013 were recognized at a pinning ceremony held April 30 at Miller Lecture Hall. The following students participated: Back Row (L to R): Jonathan Williams (Appling), Jessica Fussell (Coffee), Rebecca Benton (Coffee), Jessica Mikell (Bacon), Amanda Henderson (Ware), Rob Prather (Clinch)
Front Row (L to R): Whitney Lewis (Ware), Meghan Fullard (Brantley), Yuri Martin (Ware), Cassie Denison (Pierce), Jewel Curry (Ware).

 Rad Tech Pinning


← Back




Waycross Alma Baxley
1701 Carswell Ave 101 West 17th St 1334 Golden Isles Pkwy, W
Waycross, Georgia 31503 Alma, Georgia 31510 Baxley, Georgia 31513
912.287.6584 912.632.0951 912.367.1700
  Camden Golden Isles
  8001 The Lakes Blvd 3700 Glynco Pkwy
  Kingsland, Georgia 31548 Brunswick, Georgia 31525
  912.510.3327 912.262.4999
  Hazlehurst Jesup
  677 Douglas Hwy 1777 West Cherry St
  Hazlehurst, Georgia 31539 Jesup, Georgia 31545
  912.379.0041 912.427.5800




Website design and development by, Inc.

Copyright © Coastal Pines Technical College. All rights reserved.

close (X)