Skip to Main Content


OTC Radiologic Technology Students Honored at Pinning Ceremony

Members of the Okefenokee Technical College (OTC) Radiologic Technology Class of 2014 were recognized and commemorated with a pinning ceremony held April 24, 2014, at the OTC Miller Lecture Hall on the Waycross Campus. Donna Yeomans, radiologic technology program director, assisted by Pam Johnson, program clinical coordinator, pinned eleven graduating students signifying they had met all necessary graduation requirements.

Dr. Abraham Pallas, academic dean for allied health and general education at OTC, gave a warm welcome to family, friends, and graduates in attendance at the ceremony.  Several students in the radiology program took part in the ceremony. Katie Clare and Justin Carter presented a poignant invocation.  Monterria Guyton and Janay Corbitt welcomed and thanked those in attendance. 

Carli Johns and Casey Gibbs shared witty memories of classroom, clinical, and personal moments.  They imparted a few fun scenarios that only radiologic technologists could truly relish and adore.

Angel Tumbling and Paris Shaw presented plaques to each clinical affiliate as an expression of dedication shown in aiding the class in completing their educational journey.  Appreciation plaques were presented to the Bacon County Hospital and Health System, Clinch Memorial Hospital, Coffee Regional Medical Center, Mayo Clinic Health System in Waycross, Mayo Clinic Health System Orthopedics, South Georgia Physicians Group, and Wayne Memorial Hospital.

Select students and technologists were recognized throughout the ceremony.  Sage Bass presented the Outstanding Clinical Affiliate Award to Bacon County Hospital and Health System for being such a supportive site throughout their clinical experience.  Susana Mote presented the Outstanding Technologist Award to Joni Reddick, RT(R)(CT) for “guiding and directing us along the way” at Wayne Memorial Hospital, for her years of service as a clinical instructor, and her dedication to the profession.  

Carli Johns received the OTC Outstanding Student Award, formerly known as the Mallinkrodt Award. The award, presented by program director Donna Yeomans, recognized Johns for her “exceptional work ethic, proficient knowledge (both in the classroom and clinicals), admirable interpersonal relationship skills with technologists and classmates along with her excellent patient care skills that she performs with a little humor to boot.”

Pam Johnson, program clinical coordinator, presented the Coffee Regional Medical Center Outstanding Student Achievement Award to Casey Gibbs.  The clinical facility trusts “the recipient demonstrates unquestionable ethics, customer courtesy, dependability, and loyalty to the profession.”

Mrs. Yeomans and Ms. Johnson addressed graduates prior to the ceremonial pinning. Mrs. Yeomans reflected on perseverance.  She quoted James 1:12, which states, “Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.”

Even Wilhelm Conrad Rontgen “changed the entire perception of medicine in one single discovery through perseverance,” continued Yeomans, “…Grow your self- confidence and move quickly to repair it when damaged by setbacks. Continue to grow intellectually, tackle the toughest jobs and challenges as a radiographer, know yourself and your weaknesses so that you will critically self-assess to become a better person, and know that your personal integrity is in your own hands that cannot be taken from you by someone else.” 

Yeomans went on to encourage students to be “an information fountain allowing yourself to stand out from the rest.” She stated how it is bittersweet that after 49 years Okefenokee Technical College will no longer exist as of June 30, 2014.

“We will officially merge and stand united with Altamaha Technical College,” said Yeomans, “beginning July 1 as Coastal Pines Technical College in order to expand, grow, and provide improved educational opportunities for our community and abroad.”

Ms. Johnson presented an entertaining radiographer rendition of the “Twas the Night Before Christmas,” entitled “Twas the Last Day of Clinicals.” The students enjoyed the poem and identified with the characters.  Mr. Brent Clemmer, former OTC program clinical coordinator and his daughter, Lilah, were in attendance at the ceremony and provided additional encouraging remarks to graduates.

The graduates exited the stage to watch a DVD of noteworthy photos compiled by program officials.  Following the presentation, the following students were called to the stage and ceremoniously pinned and presented to the audience:  Sage Bass, Justin Carter, Katherine Clare, Janay Corbitt, Casey Gibbs, Monterria Guyton, Carli Johns, Susana Mote, Paris Shaw, Teri Thornton, and Angel Tumbling. 

Justin Carter and Teri Thornton gave closing remarks and presented each instructor with a token of appreciation.  Teri thanked everyone, stating, “Thank you for coming and supporting us as we end this chapter of our life.  Without your support we would not be where we are today.” 

An extended appreciation is extended to the following individuals and organizations for their patronage in helping make the pinning ceremony a success: Dr. Abraham Pallas, Jason Rubenbauer, Jack Harris at Teamgear Printing, Natalie’s Florist, Chad Boyett and the OTC facilities staff, Mark Deal and the OTC environmental horticulture program.  The radiologic technology program would also like to thank the junior radiography students for helping with the sound system and distributing programs:  Jadee Rudisail, DeeAnn Russell, and Leah Thornton.  Without the clinical affiliates and encouragement from others, the pinning would not have been such a success.


← Back


Telephone numbers are accessible to persons who are deaf or hard of hearing through the Georgia Relay by dialing 711 or 1-800-255-0056 from a TTY/TDD.

Los números de teléfono son accesibles a las personas que son sordos o con pérdida de la audición a través de Georgia Relay marcando 711 o 1-800-255-0056 de TTY/TDD.


Waycross Camden Baxley
1701 Carswell Ave 100 Keith Dixon Way 1334 Golden Isles Pkwy, W
Waycross, Georgia 31503 Kingsland, GA 31548 Baxley, Georgia 31513
912.287.6584 912.522.4510 912.367.1700
  Camden Golden Isles
Alma Cosmetology Program 3700 Glynco Pkwy
101 West 17th St 8001 The Lakes Blvd Brunswick, Georgia 31525
Alma, Georgia 31510 Kingsland, Georgia 31548 912.262.4999
912.632.0951 912.510.3364  
  Hazlehurst 1777 West Cherry St
  677 Douglas Hwy Jesup, Georgia 31545
  Hazlehurst, Georgia 31539 912.427.5800


Human Trafficking Hotline

Website design and development by, Inc.

Copyright © Coastal Pines Technical College. All rights reserved.

close (X)