Locations

Waycross Alma Baxley
1701 Carswell Ave 101 West 17th St 1334 Golden Isles Pkwy, W
Waycross, Georgia 31503 Alma, Georgia 31510 Baxley, Georgia 31513
912.287.6584 912.632.0951 912.367.1700
877.332.8682    
  Camden Golden Isles
  8001 The Lakes Blvd 3700 Glynco Pkwy
  Kingsland, Georgia 31548 Brunswick, Georgia 31525
  912.510.3327 912.262.4999
     
  Hazlehurst Jesup
  677 Douglas Hwy 1777 West Cherry St
  Hazlehurst, Georgia 31539 Jesup, Georgia 31545
  912.379.0041 912.427.5800

 

Human Trafficking Hotline

 
Send to Printer

Driver's Education

 
Scholarship-Authorized-Provider-logo
 
Learning to drive is a major milestone in a teenager’s life! Joshua's Law requires all sixteen year olds take an approved driver's education course before obtaining their driver's license. Coastal Pines Technical College (CPTC) is an authorized provider in the Georgia Driver’s Education Grant Scholarship Program. 
 
Choose from three training options:  
  1. Full Course (30/6) includes 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction for a total of 36 hours and is eligible for the grant scholarship.

  2. Classroom Only course includes 30 hours of in-person classroom instruction with a certified instructor.  A driving permit is not required for registration in this course.

  3. Behind-the-Wheel Training (BTWT) Only is hourly and includes hands on instruction with a certified driving instructor and offers flexible appointments based on your schedule.

Many insurance companies award a reduction on insurance premiums upon successful completion of the full (30/6) course or at least 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training.
 
Students who are between 15 and 17 years of age and possess a valid learner’s permit are eligible to apply for the grant scholarship offered by the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety.
 

How Do I Register?

  1. Choose a date and campus location.

  2. Apply for the scholarship (optional). You will receive an email notifying you of the scholarship award status on the first day of the next month following your application. If awarded the scholarship, the Georgia Driver Education Commission (GDEC) will provide you with a voucher code, which you will enter on your CPTC registration. The voucher will expire if not submitted and redeemed within 30 days of receiving.

  3. Read the Course Information and the Student Code of Conduct.

  4. Print and complete the Course Forms. Student and parent or guardian sign in all requested areas. Scan and save the Course Forms. To upload the Course Forms during online registration, all Course Forms should be saved into ONE file for upload. If you are unable to upload the forms during completion of the Registration Form or need to upload multiple files, then you may upload forms using the Upload Documents feature under the Course Forms section of our website. If not uploaded, then the course forms must be submitted by mail or dropped off. 

  5. Complete the online or paper (offline) Driver’s Education Registration Form. You will be notified within 48 business hours that you have been accepted into the class and the scholarship redemption status. You will be given further instructions at that point.

    • Online registration for scholarship students - Choose this option if you received a scholarship voucher code from the GDEC and wish to register online. Be prepared to upload a file with a copy or picture of the driving permit during registration and to provide the information from the GDEC email awarding the scholarship.

    • Online registration for non-scholarship students - Choose this option if you are registering for the Classroom Only course, BTWT Only course, or paying the course fee out-of-pocket and wish to register online.

    • Paper Registration - Print, complete, and submit the paper (offline) Registration and Fee Submission Form, the Course Forms, and a copy of the student’s driving permit (permit not required for Classroom Only course) by mail or dropping off following the instructions on the Registration Form. Do not fax or email registrations, course forms, or permit information.

  6. Be sure to upload a legible copy of the student’s driving permit during online registration or submit with your paper registration.  The permit must be submitted in order for us to redeem the scholarship voucher. All students enrolled in a course, including BTWT, must submit a copy of the driving permit before BTWT is scheduled. A permit is not required for the Classroom Only course.

  7. Submit the course fee (non-scholarship registration). Follow the directions on the Registration and Fee Submission Form for paper submissions. Use the Fee Submission Form for Online Registration if registering online and mailing a check, money order, or credit card authorization. If you would like to pay in-person or over the phone, then please select that option during the online registration and a representative will contact you with further instructions. 
 
For more information, please email driversed@coastalpines.edu or call 912-262-4300.
 

Schedule & Fees

Schedule
 
CAMPUS
BEGIN
END
DAYS
#DAYS
FROM
UNTIL
Jesup
7/6/20
7/9/20
Mo,Tu,We,Th
4
8am
5pm
Brunswick 7/13/20 7/16/20 Mo,Tu,We,Th 4 8am 5pm
Waycross 7/13/20 7/16/20 Mo,Tu,We,Th 4 9am 5pm
 
Fees
  • Full Course (Classroom and Behind-the-Wheel) Registration Fee: $350 (36 Hours)
    • Eligible for grant scholarship

  • Classroom Only Registration Fee: $150 (30 Hours)
    • NOT eligible for grant scholarship

  • Behind-the-Wheel Only Registration Fee: $42 Per Hour
    • NOT eligible for grant scholarship
    • 2 hour session minimum
    • 6 hours required for Certificate of Completion

 

Apply for Scholarship

The Georgia Driver's Education Commission offers the Georgia Driver's Education Grant Scholarship Program to offer driver's education to Georgia students. The grant scholarship program is open to Georgia residents ages 15-17 who wish to satisfy the Joshua's Law driver's education requirement with an approved instructor and enroll in a course including 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training. First priority will be given to grant scholarship applicants who are a child or dependent of a public safety professional or member of the United States military killed in the line of duty. Second priority will be given to scholarship applicants who can demonstrate a need based on family income. Third priority will be given to all applicants who do not meet the criteria set forth in the first priority and second priority outlined above. Grant scholarship allocations are evenly distributed among Georgia's United States congressional districts.
 
The parent or guardian and student must apply online to be awarded a scholarship voucher. Scholarships are awarded one time per month. You will receive an email on or around the 1st day of the month after submitting your application stating that you have or have not been awarded a scholarship in the form of a 6 digit voucher code. They will also provide a list of authorized driver training programs. If you are awarded a scholarship, you have 30 days from the receipt of the scholarship voucher code to give that code to the authorized provider of your choice. The student must complete the full course within 6 months of the scholarship voucher receipt date.
 
All inquiries concerning the scholarship, application process, results, etc. should be submitted to the GA Driver’s Education Commission or the Governor’s Office of Highway Safety (GOHS)
 
Please wait to complete the CPTC Registration until you have received a response to your application for the GOHS Driver's Education Grant Scholarship.
 
Up-to-date Driver’s Education information may be found at GOHS
 
 

Course Forms

 

Behind-the-Wheel Training

The Department of Driver Services requires that parents or guardians invest, at least, 40 hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice with their teen prior to taking the road test for their license. Behind-the-wheel training is not a substitute for that instruction. It provides students with 6 hours of more complex behind-the-wheel training. By the time students begin their first behind-the-wheel training session, he or she should be able to successfully complete the following four skills: 1) basic driver preparation, 2) steering, 3) accelerating and slowing down smoothly, and 4) turning left or right at intersections. A minimum of 10 hours of parent or guardian-led instruction is recommended before scheduling behind-the-wheel training that includes 1) a general review of driving essentials (the car's features, forward driving, parking, reverse driving, braking, hard braking, etc.), 2) parallel parking, 3) driving through residential areas, 4) driving in town/business areas, and 5) entering, driving, and exiting highways and interstates. If the instructor determines that the student is lacking proficiency, then not all components may be covered to ensure safety to the student, instructor, and other drivers. Extra driving sessions are available for purchase as needed. 
 
 
 

Website design and development by Americaneagle.com, Inc.

Copyright © Coastal Pines Technical College. All rights reserved.

close (X)