Skip to Main Content


CPTC Announces Spring 2016 National Technical Honor Society Inductees

April 27, 2016 01:19 PM

picture of the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) inductees with CPTC staffCoastal Pines Technical College (CPTC) is pleased to announce its Spring 2016 National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) inductees: Alfred Grant, Jr. (Glynn), Automotive Technology; Jessica Garner (Wayne), Cosmetology; Chrissa James (Glynn), Cosmetology; Christopher Seawell (Glynn), Automotive Technology; Connie Thomas (McIntosh), Cosmetology; Nicki Pruitt (Glynn), Cosmetology; Melissa Pindroh (Bacon), Early Childhood Care and Education; Betty Nicole Lawson (Ware), Early Childhood Care and Education; Jessica Lynn (Pierce), Cosmetology; Ansley Boatright (Glynn), Cosmetology; Tiffany Devlin (Glynn), Nurse Aide; Sarah Cross (Glynn), Cosmetology; Audrey Tyre (Wayne), Business Technology; Jennifer Irwin (Wayne), Cosmetology; Jaci Thomas (McIntosh), Cosmetology; Corey Keaton (Ware), Cosmetology; Caleb Davis (Bacon), Welding and Joining Technology; Dinequianna Buckhalter (Ware), Cosmetology; Katie Garner (Appling), Cosmetology; Porchea Collins (Ware), Cosmetology; Thang Duong (Glynn) Automotive Technology; Carla Michelle Styn (Glynn), Cosmetology; Melinda Moore (Appling), Business Technology; Pamela Quillen (Jeff Davis), Business Technology; Sarahy Segura (Appling), Business Technology; and Christina Smith (Jeff Davis), Business Technology.

The National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) is an organization that honors students for outstanding academic success in a technical field of study. In order to qualify for induction into the NTHS, a student must be recommended by an instructor and have a 3.5 or higher grade point average (GPA). Additionally, NTHS members must maintain a 3.5 or higher GPA, plan to pursue a career in their program of study, demonstrate good character, and exhibit leadership skills.

picture of the candle light ceremony with Chad Swanson in centerCPTC President Dr. Glenn Deibert opened the ceremony, which took place Wednesday evening, April 27, 2016, on the Jesup campus and included the traditional candle lighting ceremony,a convention which recognizes the skills and qualities necessary for student success. In his remarks, Dr. Deibert shared the goal of NTHS – “to see that deserving students are recognized and that the community is made aware of the talents and abilities of the young people and adults who choose technical education pathways as a means to a successful future.”

“Not only do NTHS students embody all the attributes and talent in demand today, but they also embrace a clear vision for tomorrow’s workforce and their role in it,” continued Deibert.

NTHS honors the achievements of top students, provides scholarships to encourage the pursuit of higher education, and cultivates excellence in today’s highly competitive, skilled workforce. Thank you to the instructors who took time to nominate these outstanding leaders and congratulations to the inductees for such an achievement. For more information about the NTHS, visit For more information about CPTC, visit

Coastal Pines Technical College is a unit of the Technical College System of Georgia.

Photo top left: Dr. Glenn Deibert (front, left), college President; Chad Swanson (front, right), Director of Distance Education and NTHS Advisor; Lonnie Roberts (middle, left), college Provost; Karla Eubanks (middle, right), Vice President of Student Affairs; Stephanie Roberts (back, left), Student Activities Coordinator; Dr. Al Cunningham (back, right), Vice President of Academic Affairs; conducted the 2016 NTHS induction ceremony and were on hand to congratulate those participating: Alfred Grant, Jr. (front, L to R), Jessica Garner, Chrissa James, Christopher Seawell, Connie Thomas (middle, L to R), Nicki Pruitt, Melissa Pindroh, Betty Nicole Lawson, Jessica Lynn, Ansley Boatright, Tiffany Delvin, Sarah Cross, Audrey Tyre, Jennifer Irwin (back, L to R), Jaci Thomas, Corey Keaton, Caleb Davis, Dinequianna Buckhalter and Katie Garner. CPTC faculty and staff congratulate the 2016 NTHS inductees.

Photo right middle: Chad Swanson, (front, center), director of distance education and the CPTC NTHS advisor, led the candle lighting ceremony. After his opening remarks, seven inductees each read about an important quality found in and desired by NTHS members. They then lit a candle to signify the importance of the quality as it pertains to student success. The qualities of success are skill, honesty, service, responsibility, scholarship, citizenship, and leadership. The seven students participating were Chrissa James (l to r), Melissa Pindroh, Sarah Cross, Christopher Seawell, Tiffany Devlin, Dinequianna Buckhalter, and Caleb Davis.


← Back


Telephone numbers are accessible to persons who are deaf or hard of hearing through the Georgia Relay by dialing 711 or 1-800-255-0056 from a TTY/TDD.

Los números de teléfono son accesibles a las personas que son sordos o con pérdida de la audición a través de Georgia Relay marcando 711 o 1-800-255-0056 de TTY/TDD.


Waycross Camden Baxley
1701 Carswell Ave 100 Keith Dixon Way 1334 Golden Isles Pkwy, W
Waycross, Georgia 31503 Kingsland, GA 31548 Baxley, Georgia 31513
912.287.6584 912.522.4510 912.367.1700
  Camden Golden Isles
Alma Cosmetology Program 3700 Glynco Pkwy
101 West 17th St 8001 The Lakes Blvd Brunswick, Georgia 31525
Alma, Georgia 31510 Kingsland, Georgia 31548 912.262.4999
912.632.0951 912.510.3364  
  Hazlehurst 1777 West Cherry St
  677 Douglas Hwy Jesup, Georgia 31545
  Hazlehurst, Georgia 31539 912.427.5800


Human Trafficking Hotline

Website design and development by, Inc.

Copyright © Coastal Pines Technical College. All rights reserved.

close (X)