Skip to Main Content


Okefenokee Tech Names Finalists for GOAL Award




Three outstanding Okefenokee Technical College students have been selected as the college’s finalists for the 2013 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL), according to Karen Boyle, coordinator for OTC’s GOAL program. All OTC GOAL nominees and finalists are commended for this honor, as the GOAL process requires participants to exhibit excellence in academics and leadership.

Finalist Carli Johns of Brantley County is enrolled in the radiologic technology program and was nominated by her instructor, Mrs. Donna Yeomans. Mrs. Johns is a 2005 Ware County graduate and the mother of two young children. Her husband, D. J. Johns, as well as her mother, graduated from OTC, which influenced her decision to enroll. After graduating from the radiology program, Carli plans to continue her education in computed tomography. She and her family are members of the Hayner Pasture Hunting Club and the Georgia Hunting & Fishing Federation.

Finalist Kevin Quinn of Bacon County is enrolled in the automotive collision repair program and was nominated by his instructor, Terry Simmons. He is a 1990 graduate of Bacon County High School and is a youth leader at Southside Church of God in Alma. Quinn owns and operates a towing and recovery business and hopes to expand to automotive collision repair once he graduates from OTC.

Finalist Johnathon Wright of Coffee County is enrolled in the computer networking degree program and was nominated by his instructor, Mr. Eddie Murray. Wright is a member of SkillsUSA, a student organization that promotes leadership and professionalism. “I love the hands-on classwork and the hometown feel of OTC,” stated Johnathon when asked about Okefenokee Tech. Wright plans to graduate this summer with honors from the networking specialist degree and the computer support specialist degree programs. He is currently gaining invaluable learning experience as a work study student with the OTC information technology staff while taking classes.

Finalists were chosen by a screening committee who reviewed nominations, critiqued speeches, and conducted personal interviews. Students recently participated in another round of interviews and evaluations in which a panel of representatives from the local business and industry sector considered their academic achievement, personal character, leadership abilities and enthusiasm for technical education.

The OTC GOAL winner will be announced to the public and introduced to Waycross Exchange Club members February 7 at a regularly scheduled Exchange Club meeting.  Regional competition will take place February 28.

Karen Boyle, OTC President Dr. Glenn Deibert, and the OTC staff would like to thank the Waycross-Ware County Chamber of Commerce for sponsoring the selection process and the Waycross Exchange Club for hosting the GOAL Banquet.

2013 GOAL Finalists

Photo: GOAL Finalists 2013
The 2013 finalists for OTC’s Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership (GOAL) are Kevin Quinn (L to R) of Alma, Carli Johns of Nahunta, and Johnathon Wright of Nicholls. 






← Back




Waycross Alma Baxley
1701 Carswell Ave 101 West 17th St 1334 Golden Isles Pkwy, W
Waycross, Georgia 31503 Alma, Georgia 31510 Baxley, Georgia 31513
912.287.6584 912.632.0951 912.367.1700
  Camden Golden Isles
  8001 The Lakes Blvd 3700 Glynco Pkwy
  Kingsland, Georgia 31548 Brunswick, Georgia 31525
  912.510.3327 912.262.4999
  Hazlehurst Jesup
  677 Douglas Hwy 1777 West Cherry St
  Hazlehurst, Georgia 31539 Jesup, Georgia 31545
  912.379.0041 912.427.5800




Website design and development by, Inc.

Copyright © Coastal Pines Technical College. All rights reserved.

close (X)